Tacticool Shotgun Frenzy

tacticalshotgun

How many of us grew up using an old Remington 870 or Mossberg 500 for the home defense shotgun as well as the hunting gun and the Skeet gun?  These home defense shotguns have turned into a world wide search for the latest and the greatest in “Tacticool”. I can’t tell you how many times I hear people telling me they need a “Tactical Shotgun” My response has always been ” why” To this day my 870 is near the bed just in case. It’s not a short barrel Tactical shotgun, It’s the same gun I have used for years dove hunting, Rabbit hunting etc…  It has a 28 inch barrel and no tactical accessories whatsoever. I recently looked at some instructional information and decided I am behind the times when it comes to Home defense shotguns, So time to do some research and get a solid understanding of Tactical Shotguns,

The first question is why would someone need a tactical shotgun,  and the answers were interesting to say the least. Most people said they wanted to have something compact that they could maneuver in tight quarters. with accessories such as a light and a shell holder. Ok I’ll give you that one, The old 28 inch model is difficult to maneuver in tight quarters. You can also buy barrels for most models so you can switch between defensive and hunting. First question answered, now which gun to buy, Lets think about this a little Semi-auto or Pump, well that depends on you. A semi will allow you to fire slightly faster than a pump, However some people like the “sound” of cycling the action to scare and intruder.

The second question is which one,  There are literally dozens of different makes and models of Tactical shotguns available. So we have to look at several things, I don’t know about you, but I live on a budget, Spending $2K on a tactical shotgun is just not something I’m willing to do. Fortunately I don’t have too.  The Mossberg 500 Tactical Persuader or the 930 SPX is available at at decent price (under $500) and both are good guns, Also the Remington 870 Express Tactical. (under $500).

Now if these shotguns just aren’t enough for your needs, There are dozens of other shotguns out there that may fit your needs, Personally after doing the research on this post I found that I like the Benelli M4 and the Beretta 1301 Tactical. The choice really comes down to you and what you are willing to spend  to get what you want.

The next thing that you are going to run into is what accessories do you really need for a tactical shotgun.  The first thing most defense shotguns should have is a side saddle shell holder, you should also get a magazine extension if the gun did not come with one. and then a sling. There are literally hundreds of options out there for accessories, I don’t suggest you weigh your gun down with the kitchen sink, It’s just not necessary and it can hinder your movement with the gun.  Some people want to put rails on it and a flashlight, That is your option. I don’t put flashlights on any of my guns as it makes your gun the target and if you shine the light in the room to check on the kids, you are muzzling them at the same time,  (Remember GUNS SAFETY).

Now that you have the gun and the accessories you need TRAINING, Home and personal defense is not something you should chance. As I will always recommend, train, train, train, The more you know about how to use your firearm and the more you practice it, the less likely you are to make a stupid mistake that could cost you and your family their lives,

So is it necessary to purchase a Tactical shotgun, No. Will it help you to function in a self defense situation? Only if you practice and train with it. There is a lot of good information about training and the guns themselves. Do your research, Don’t believe everything you read, and Have fun,  I know after the research I did on this post I might just have to get one, if for no other reason than I need another gun,  Don’t fall for the frenzy, make your own educated decisions

 

Leave a Reply

